Author Topic: Devmode updates (Wanted)  (Read 6372 times)

Pilchard123

  • Tester
  • Old Oak
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 932
  • Eufloria: Yes
Devmode updates (Wanted)
« on: July 22, 2010, 04:08:48 AM »
Would it be possible to have an addition to the devmode (CTRL+D) stuff?

Things I was thinking of (in no particular order, although the top one I really would find useful.):

A popup (on F6?) that allows you to enter a few lines of code, and then when a button is clicked, runs it? I know this could be used to cheat, but it would make level development simpler. Rather than having to close the level to make a change to the code, make the change and reload, you could just pop it in, and see the effect straightaway. (I was thinking of small things, like changing the gravitational constant in a gravity map, but I suppose anytihng could be done, really. It's just another On<Something>(), isn't it.)

Also, while devmode is on, a little readout in the corner of the map and screen co-ordinates? Maybe basic level stats, too; fps, number of seedlings (total and onscreen), and other stuff.


...


There was more, but I forgot it.

Anyway, that's stuff that would be useful to me, what about everybody else? And is there any chance of these coming in the future?

EDIT : Changed thread title because it seemed misleading to me.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2010, 05:02:07 AM by Pilchard123 »

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Ent
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 15
  • Posts: 1,035
Re: Devmode updates (Wanted)
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2010, 05:44:32 PM »
Use the console? I need to revisit that as there are some scrolling issues and the text entry sucks.

Hit f12 while in debug mode for screens of info. Successive presses yield extra layers of info. F6 brings up the stats. Other f-keys bring up various other info/debug windows.

Pilchard123

  • Tester
  • Old Oak
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 932
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: Devmode updates (Wanted)
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2010, 04:47:48 AM »
Wow, lots of info. Didn't know about that, you didn't say...but thanks for telling now.

So, any chance of a/the console then?

annikk.exe

  • Achiever
  • Ent
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 5
  • Posts: 1,809
Re: Devmode updates (Wanted)
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2010, 06:55:53 PM »
There's already a console dude.  Push the Tilde key (`), it's to the left of 1.


You can chuck commands straight into it, and the game runs them.  Very useful for developing levels :>

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Ent
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 15
  • Posts: 1,035
Re: Devmode updates (Wanted)
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2010, 12:59:51 AM »
I'd better put that info up somewhere if it's not already...

Bonobo

  • Achiever
  • Old Oak
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 142
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 675
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: Devmode updates (Wanted)
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2010, 03:48:44 AM »
It’s somewhere here in the forum, I had once accidentally summoned the Console and asked how to get rid of it.

Will certainly be a good idea to collect all dev-related stuff and how to get all the info.

Pilchard123

  • Tester
  • Old Oak
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 932
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: Devmode updates (Wanted)
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2010, 04:18:53 AM »
Oh. Ok. Didn't realise...

Yeah, collecting all the info together might be a good idea.

Bonobo

  • Achiever
  • Old Oak
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 142
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 675
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: Devmode updates (Wanted)
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2010, 04:25:25 AM »
Uhm, Annikk, the tilde is this here: “~”. What you show is the Accent Grave, IIRC.

Anyway, ctrl+` calls up the console. (For <edit> German </edit> Mac users in a virtual machine: ctrl+^, <edit> also to the left of cipher  “1” </edit>)
« Last Edit: July 25, 2010, 05:46:32 AM by Bonobo »

Pilchard123

  • Tester
  • Old Oak
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 932
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: Devmode updates (Wanted)
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2010, 05:36:18 AM »
It's a UK keyboard. the tilde key on US? keyboards is where the accent grave is on a UK keyboard

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Ent
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 15
  • Posts: 1,035
Re: Devmode updates (Wanted)
« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2010, 05:21:56 PM »
Yeah, it's the ` key, on a UK keyboard it's the key to the left of 1.