Author Topic: Enemy Count wrong?  (Read 6710 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

roidal

  • Shoot
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 12
Enemy Count wrong?
« on: November 13, 2012, 12:40:10 AM »
Hi!

Sometimes the Enemycount of an (own) Asteroid (in the Info-GUI) is >0 but there is no enemy Visible and own seeds seem to act as there is nothing to attack.

PS.: As i see there is a sticky-thread for eufloria game-updates/progress, is there something similar for eufloria hd?

sillytuna

  • Eufloria lacky
  • Administrator
  • Arboreal Being
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 58
  • -Receive: 92
  • Posts: 446
    • TunaHQ
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: Enemy Count wrong?
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2012, 01:12:14 AM »
The bug report - I am looking at this right now...

The forum thread - I will be updating the forum as soon as I've got through all the support requests this week. I'll start differentiating old Eufloria from Eufloria HD when I do that.

roidal

  • Shoot
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 12
Re: Enemy Count wrong?
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2012, 01:28:46 AM »
Thanks for your fast answer!

The forum thread - I will be updating the forum as soon as I've got through all the support requests this week. I'll start differentiating old Eufloria from Eufloria HD when I do that.

I was a little bit confused about "Eufloria" and "Eufloria HD", first i thought it is with better graphics, but it is a total new rewrite or?
Maybe you can give some information whats the difference? (I don't know the (original) Eufloria)

PS.: Let mit say it's a really cool game what you have done!

sillytuna

  • Eufloria lacky
  • Administrator
  • Arboreal Being
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 58
  • -Receive: 92
  • Posts: 446
    • TunaHQ
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: Enemy Count wrong?
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2012, 01:39:09 AM »
Thanks for your fast answer!

I was a little bit confused about "Eufloria" and "Eufloria HD", first i thought it is with better graphics, but it is a total new rewrite or?
Maybe you can give some information whats the difference? (I don't know the (original) Eufloria)

PS.: Let mit say it's a really cool game what you have done!


re: bug - can you tell me what level you have seen it, whether it was your asteroid or someone else's, and absolutely anything else about what you did on that asteroid (terraform, plant trees, etc). I need to replicate the bug although I think it's related to a crash fix not on the iOS build yet. The fix may have broken other things.

re: Eufloria and HD - once we get a few minutes we'll update the website and forum to explain all this.

Eufloria 'Classic' is on PC only and is the only version on Steam. Eufloria HD is the version on everything else, and the new PC / Mac / Linux version. The bundle version is a pre-release build because we plan on adding new features next year before releasing it fully. All bundle owners will get the final version but that'll be spring or summer 2013. We have a spin off game, Eufloria Adventures, being done initially for PlayStation Mobile first.

Eufloria HD is a complete rewrite which Alex May wrote for PS3. That version, well, has a few bugs in but that is the HD version of the game. It is still called Eufloria on PS3, however. The iOS version was a reworking of that and included a lot of bug fixes and polish that time didn't allow on PS3.

For iPad it was renamed Eufloria HD as it's so different to the original - it plays differently even though the core level set is similar. There is also Eufloria (non HD) on iOS but that's simply an iPhone only build with less music and a lower price. It's still essentially Eufloria HD.

Android, PS3, PC (non Steam), Mac, Linux, iPad and iPhone are all - essentially - Eufloria HD.

Yeah, it's confusing because Eufloria just kept being built on rather than getting an official sequel. There was no big plan, it just happened because people liked it. However, the HD version plays differently so it's best for people to have both if they wish.

The original version is no longer being developed and one of the plans for HD additions is a proper more relaxed game mode for those that want it.

roidal

  • Shoot
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 12
Re: Enemy Count wrong?
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2012, 01:51:17 AM »
re: bug - can you tell me what level you have seen it, whether it was your asteroid or someone else's, and absolutely anything else about what you did on that asteroid (terraform, plant trees, etc). I need to replicate the bug although I think it's related to a crash fix not on the iOS build yet. The fix may have broken other things.


It's happening on the humble bundle windows-version (i think it was on android too, but iam not 100% sure) in the story-mode.
Nothing special to do...sometimes after the enemy attack a own asteroid you see how your seeds attack the hostiles,
and after every visible hostile are destroyed the enemy number shown in the asteroid-info is still greater 0.
From this moment on it never gets back to 0, a workaround is to "save & quit" and load the game again, then its 0.

PS.: I know its offtopic, but how i figure out how many seeds i need for a terraform progress?
« Last Edit: November 13, 2012, 01:55:55 AM by roidal »

sillytuna

  • Eufloria lacky
  • Administrator
  • Arboreal Being
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 58
  • -Receive: 92
  • Posts: 446
    • TunaHQ
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: Enemy Count wrong?
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2012, 01:58:59 AM »
Terraforming, once available (level 8 ), requires 10 seeds to plant the tree and then you can use up to 100 to improve an attribute.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2012, 03:12:39 AM by Pilchard123 »

roidal

  • Shoot
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 12
Re: Enemy Count wrong?
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2012, 02:08:55 AM »
Terraforming, once available (level 8 ), requires 10 seeds to plant the tree and then you can use up to 100 to improve an attribute.


I mean, if you start a terraform-process seeds are flying to the terraform-tree and then if there are a specified number of seeds over the tree (if i figured it out correctly) the terraform progress is finished.
So if i choose "+20" Speed for example, how many seeds have to be there to finish the progress, but it seems to be much more than 20?
And after the progress all seed are available again?
« Last Edit: November 13, 2012, 03:13:28 AM by Pilchard123 »

sillytuna

  • Eufloria lacky
  • Administrator
  • Arboreal Being
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 58
  • -Receive: 92
  • Posts: 446
    • TunaHQ
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: Enemy Count wrong?
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2012, 02:37:23 AM »
It's 20. However, as reported on here there is a bug on PC/Mac/Linux systems running > 60hz (and maybe others, unsure) which is causing seedlings to stack about the tree and not enter it, and the tree is malformed (it should have 3 branches; the example we were given only had one main branch and I've now fixed this locally).

Pilchard123

  • Tester
  • Old Oak
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 23
  • Posts: 930
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: Enemy Count wrong?
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2012, 03:13:54 AM »
Edited a couple of posts to fix an unwanted emote.

sillytuna

  • Eufloria lacky
  • Administrator
  • Arboreal Being
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 58
  • -Receive: 92
  • Posts: 446
    • TunaHQ
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: Enemy Count wrong?
« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2012, 07:51:35 AM »
Both the terraforming issues and the asteroid panel counts have been fixed internally. Both bugs could cause or indicate other issues so we'll update as soon as possible. The first bug does not affect Android and can possibly be mitigated by running at triple speed. Possibly.

We need to tidy the code up and test a bit, so hopefully there will be an official update on Wednesday. I'll post up when done.

(Taken all day and all night, doh! Not had dinner yet. And breakfast was lunch!)

roidal

  • Shoot
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 12
Re: Enemy Count wrong?
« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2012, 10:10:39 PM »
Both the terraforming issues and the asteroid panel counts have been fixed internally. Both bugs could cause or indicate other issues so we'll update as soon as possible.

Good news! :)

The first bug does not affect Android and can possibly be mitigated by running at triple speed. Possibly.

Yes, after activating v-sync (which limits the FPS to 60 on my computer) terraforming was working, thanks for the hint.
Btw. a framelimiter would be cool, maybe to don't heat up the cpu so much and save energy (for battery-driven notebooks :) )

sillytuna

  • Eufloria lacky
  • Administrator
  • Arboreal Being
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 58
  • -Receive: 92
  • Posts: 446
    • TunaHQ
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: Enemy Count wrong?
« Reply #11 on: November 14, 2012, 01:50:29 AM »
When you say activating vsync - did you do this on your gfx card somewhere?

roidal

  • Shoot
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 12
Re: Enemy Count wrong?
« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2012, 02:11:35 AM »
When you say activating vsync - did you do this on your gfx card somewhere?

Yes, activated in the settings-panel of the gfx card driver.

sillytuna

  • Eufloria lacky
  • Administrator
  • Arboreal Being
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 58
  • -Receive: 92
  • Posts: 446
    • TunaHQ
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: Enemy Count wrong?
« Reply #13 on: November 14, 2012, 02:50:25 AM »
Ah, good to know.

We'll submit the official fix to the bundle tomorrow - we've fixed a few other things too.

Thanks: