Author Topic: Experimental Lab  (Read 145548 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Pilchard123

  • Tester
  • Old Oak
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 929
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: Experimental Lab
« Reply #15 on: November 30, 2011, 05:46:00 PM »
It'll be Lua still, just a very feature-poor version, at least at release. It has been said that they'll put most/all of the Lua stuff back, so...

Rudolf

  • Administrator
  • Old Oak
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 673
  • Euflorian Ambassador
    • Omni Systems Limited
  • Eufloria: Yes
Re: Experimental Lab
« Reply #16 on: November 30, 2011, 09:11:16 PM »
Number of Eufloria owners has gone up by 25000 at the the timee of this post, and will go up a fair bit more over the next few days :D
http://www.indieroyale.com/

-----------------------------------------------------
Rudolf Kremers - Grand Poobah

http://www.omni-labs.com
http://www.rudolfkremers.com
http://rudolfkremers.tumblr.com/

Lost Seedling

  • Shrub
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 22
  • -Receive: 25
  • Posts: 195
Re: Experimental Lab
« Reply #17 on: February 11, 2012, 10:15:22 AM »
Bored?

Here are some program samples that I think are fun to tweak and play with.

They are basically the same, with only one variable changed from positive to negative, but with very different-looking results. (One is a hybrid of the other two.)

I chose the names based on what I thought they looked like.

The default colors are kind've dark so it might look better in a dark room.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2012, 04:35:52 AM by Lost Seedling »

Lost Seedling

  • Shrub
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 22
  • -Receive: 25
  • Posts: 195
Re: Experimental Lab
« Reply #18 on: May 17, 2012, 02:50:32 PM »
Here's a fun little program to pass a few minutes of your time while making some interesting patterns with your mouse.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2012, 02:53:51 AM by Lost Seedling »

Tomfloria

  • Shrub
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 232
  • First iOS modder :D
Re: Experimental Lab
« Reply #19 on: May 17, 2012, 10:56:11 PM »

Oh, and the iPad release is coming as well of course!! We may or may not somehow plug mods into that eventually, cant say at this stage, but if we do it will be pretty cool. We got some ideas on how we can include community efforts in the future but it is too early to share ideas. Keep an eye on the forum though!

R



I know this was made before the iPad release, but I've already modded my own levels for iPad, but yeah, would love to be able to just have a sub forum just for ios user levels and what, and in the game you can download the .lua file from the post, or integrate a download page with top 10 most played levels, top 10 best rated levels, etc... Would love to see that for me and the iOS lovers of this game


annikk.exe

  • Achiever
  • Ent
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 1,809
Re: Experimental Lab
« Reply #20 on: May 17, 2012, 11:16:40 PM »
It shouldn't be too bad to get a level to run on all platforms.

Maybe we can test this stuff at some point Tom :>  I'll make random test levels with lots of different commands, and send to you... then you can test whether they work or not. :>

Tomfloria

  • Shrub
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 232
  • First iOS modder :D
Re: Experimental Lab
« Reply #21 on: May 17, 2012, 11:27:31 PM »
Sure Annikk, I'd be happy too, And also I might need to give you some code from my level to test out, on PC, because the number of iPad users for this game is slack. You'd probably have to change WaitReal() to something else though

annikk.exe

  • Achiever
  • Ent
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 1,809
Re: Experimental Lab
« Reply #22 on: May 17, 2012, 11:32:20 PM »
I think you should do your delays using something other than WaitReal()...  since there are loads of different ways to create a delay, and as far as I'm aware, WaitReal() is the only one that is iOS-specific..

If I do some awesome example guides to show you how to create a series of delays, would that be helpful? :>

Tomfloria

  • Shrub
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 232
  • First iOS modder :D
Re: Experimental Lab
« Reply #23 on: May 17, 2012, 11:39:48 PM »
You could if you wanted, but if it's iOS specific, and I'm using iOS, shouldn't i be using the iOS version? :P I mean, Alex must have created it for a reason?

annikk.exe

  • Achiever
  • Ent
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 1,809
Re: Experimental Lab
« Reply #24 on: May 17, 2012, 11:43:51 PM »
I think it's there so you know whether you can/should be using commands that relate specifically to that platform, such as touch related commands.

Maybe there is a special set of UI buttons that only appears in the iPad version or something; you could do something like:

Code: [Select]
if IsiOS() then
   hide iOS-specific buttons
end


However you could make levels that are playable on both platforms..  surely that is better, because then it increases your potential audience size? :>

I sent you a level the other night to test your screen move thing.  That worked on your iPad, didn't it? :>

Tomfloria

  • Shrub
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 232
  • First iOS modder :D
Re: Experimental Lab
« Reply #25 on: May 17, 2012, 11:47:05 PM »
It worked but I had to change the globals, but if you completely take out goobals in a level, there is a default.lua file that inputs the defaults into your level

annikk.exe

  • Achiever
  • Ent
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 1,809
Re: Experimental Lab
« Reply #26 on: May 18, 2012, 12:58:05 AM »
I wonder if we can do something like:

Code: [Select]
if IsiOS() ~= nil then
-- the function IsiOS() is recognised so we must be running on iOS
else
-- the function IsiOS() wasn't recognised, so we must be running on PC/Mac
end


annikk.exe

  • Achiever
  • Ent
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 1,809
Re: Experimental Lab
« Reply #27 on: May 18, 2012, 01:12:38 AM »
Nope, that didn't work.


This works for me:

Code: [Select]
function IsiOS()

return false

end

function LevelLogic()

if IsiOS() == false then
MessageBox("PC/Mac detected")
else
MessageBox("iOS detected")
end

end

Can you check that code on iPad Tom? :>

Tomfloria

  • Shrub
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 232
  • First iOS modder :D
Re: Experimental Lab
« Reply #28 on: May 18, 2012, 01:36:31 AM »
Sure, my dad has stolen my iPad at the moment, but later on I will be able to do it :)

annikk.exe

  • Achiever
  • Ent
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 1,809
Re: Experimental Lab
« Reply #29 on: May 18, 2012, 01:47:30 AM »
Ok, cool :>


If it works, you should get a message saying "iOS detected".

If it doesn't work, it will either crash, or display "PC/Mac Detected"